Maison Octopus creates timeless pieces, personal, basic staples which age beautifully and soak up emotions over time. We assert our identity through our choices of strong, quality materials and small local factories with a timeless elegant style.

Maison Octopus: objects to live with and to love.

TIMELESS OBJECTS FOR THE EVERYDAY LIFE

pochette photo


TRADITION MEETS MODERNITY

pochette photo

Maison Octopus draws from the past to offer modern, durable objects for the present time. Our inspiration comes from the sea and the American and Breton cultures. Whether we’re looking to find shapes, materials, patterns, know-how, we want the objects we make to convey meaning. That’s why even when they are brand new, our products are already infused with history.



Nos Matieres et Nov=s Manufactures

We are using solid, premium traditional materials.

 

Selvedge canvas: woven on old restored looms, this canvas is characterized by its raw edges and a weaving so tight that it’s waterproof. Over time, the stiff canvas obtains a patina, gets a little creased, takes on a darker shade and becomes more supple, just like an old pair of jeans.

 

Wool broadcloth: soft, warm and naturally waterproof fabric, used to make the Breton “Kabigs” and French Navy uniforms.

Our materials are produced in France and Portugal in handicraft workshops and in EPVs (“Entreprises Patrimoine Vivant”, companies that have been certified for promoting France’s living heritage).

Maison Octopus créer des intemporels, des objets basiques et personnels qui se patinent et se chargent d’émotion avec le temps. Nous affirmons notre identité par le choix de matières qualitatives et solides, de manufactures géographiquement proches et à taille humaine, d’un style intemporel et élégant. Maison Octopus propose des objets à vivre et à aimer.

INTEMPORELS POUR LE QUOTIDIEN

pochette photo


ALLIER TRADITION & MODERNITE

pochette photo

Maison Octopus s’inspire du passé pour offrir au présent des objets modernes et durables. Nous puisons notre inspiration dans le répertoire de la mer, de la culture bretonne et américaine. Que ce soit dans la recherche des formes, des matières, des graphismes, des savoir-faire, nous recherchons à véhiculer du sens par nos objets. C’est ainsi que même neuf, nos produits portent déjà en eux une part d’histoire.



Nos Matieres et Nov=s Manufactures

Nous sourcons des matières traditionnelles de haute qualité et solides.

 

La toile canvas « selvedge » : Tissée sur des métiers anciens restaurés, elle est identifiable par ses lisières brutes et son tissage si serré qu’il en est imperméable. La toile raide se patine avec le temps, elle prend des plis, s’assombrie, s’assouplie légèrement comme un vieux jean.

Le drap de laine : Textile doux et chaud, naturellement imperméable, il est utilisé dans la confection des kabigs bretons ou des uniformes de la Marine Nationale.

Nos matières sont réalisées en France et Portugal dans des ateliers artisanaux et Entreprises labellisées Patrimoine Vivant Français.